Super Critical Mass

2. Super Critical Mass (Julian Day & Luke Jaaniste), That Thing Between Us, 2017. photo Alex Wisser
2. Super Critical Mass (Julian Day & Luke Jaaniste), That Thing Between Us, 2017. photo Alex Wisser


Since 2008, SCM has presented over 50 events worldwide with over 3000 participants in such spaces as churches, galleries, libraries, public squares, parklands and lakes. SCM has featured at the Asia Pacific Triennial, QAGOMA Brisbane; FutureEverything, Manchester; Het Nutshuis, The Hague; Central Park, MATA Festival, New York; Spitalfields Music Festival, London; Library of Birmingham; Prague Quadrennial; Liquid Architecture Festival, Brisbane; Sydney Opera House; Australian Design Centre, Sydney; Federation Square, Melbourne; and Arts Centre Melbourne. SCM’s performance work Moving Collected Ambience was recently collected by the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia. SCM is directed by artists and composers Julian Day and Luke Jaaniste.


Super Critical Mass (SCM) brings together local participants to create site-responsive sonic fields in public places, working with identical sound sources and generative instructions. Thus, SCM is an ongoing experiment in how humans perceive, relate to and interact within public space. Using the active ingredients of sound, space and social connections in creative workshops and public performances, SCM examines the nature of particular locations (their use, sociopolitical function, acoustics, topographies), of community (how it builds or falters, who it includes and excludes), of networks (emergence, order and chaos, self-guiding feedback loops) and how sound functions within these factors (how it resonates, dissipates, attracts and repels.

That Thing Between Us | 2017

Materials | Delegated performance
Location | Kandos Community Centre Hall
1. Super Critical Mass (Julian Day & Luke Jaaniste), That Thing Between Us, 2017. photo Ian Hobbs
1. Super Critical Mass (Julian Day & Luke Jaaniste), That Thing Between Us, 2017. photo Ian Hobbs

A Galaxy of Suns Alan Schacher Alana Hunt Aleshia Lonsdale Aleshia Lonsdale Alex Gawronski Alex Wisser Alexander Jackson-Wyatt & Paulina Semkowicz Alison Clouston and Boyd Amanda Hills Andrew Christie Anne Graham Annemaree Dalziel Anya Rosen Artbank Artcodex Artists in Transit Beata Geyer & James Culkin Ben Denham Bill Moseley Billy Gruner and Graham Davis King Blak Douglas Boris Hunt Brad Allen-Waters Bronia Iwanczak Bruce Green Carol Warner Cementa poets Cementa Salon Ceramica Christine McMillan Christine McMillan Cigdem Aydemir Claire Conroy Claire Healy and Sean Cordeiro Connie Anthes Connie Anthes Dan Kojta Dani Marti Danial Stocks Daniel Kojta Daniel Mudie Cunningham Darryl H. Brown David Capra Diego Bonetto Djon Mundine Elizabeth Day Eugenia Raskopoulos Fiona Davies Fiona Davies Fiona Kemp Fiona MacDonald Fiona MacDonald Fleur MacDonald Francesca Mataraga Frontyard Genevieve Carroll Genevieve Murray George Shaw George Tillianakis Georgina Pollard Georgina Pollard and Leanne Wicks Gilbert Grace Gilbert Grace Greg Pritchard Heidi Lefebvre Hinterding/Haines Hobart Hughes Ian Milliss Ian Milliss Jack Randell Jacquelene Drinkall Jacquelene Drinkall Jason Lujan Jason Wing Jenny Brown Jesse Oliveri John A Douglas John A. Douglas John Conomos John Conomos Josh Harle Juilee Pryor Julie Montgarrett and Sarah McEwan Justene Williams Justin Balmain Justin Cooper Kandos Art Group Kandos CWA Kandos School of Cultural Adaptation Karen Golland Karla Dickens Kat Brown Kate Cowden Kate Mackay Kim V. Goldsmith Kurt Sorensen Kyle Ford Lauren Smith Leahlani Johnson Leanne Wicks Lena Obergfell Liam Benson Linda Brescia Linden Braye Lisa Andrew Liv in(the)finite & Patch Sinclair Madeleine Preston Margaret Brooks Margaret Roberts Margaret Roberts Mark Booth Mark Brown Mark Brown & David Standfield Mark Shorter melanie e. khava Melissa Staiger Mervyn Bishop Miriam Williamson Mr & Mrs Brown Murrawuy and Kirrpatja Nicole Barakat Nicole Welch Nola Farman Opening Night Paris Norton Paul Gazzola Paul Greedy Paul Greedy Peter Blamey Peter Williamson Philip Spark PYT | Fairfield Robin Hungerford Robyn Backen s o d a c a k e Sach Catts Sarah Breen Lovett Sarah Breen Lovett Sarah Goffman Sarah Goffman Sarah Nolan Sarah Waterson Scott 'Sauce' Towney Sean O’Keeffe Six Quick Chicks Skye Saxon SNO Group Sound Night Starrs & Cmielewski Starrs & Cmielewski Sue Pedley and Virginia Hilyard Super Critical Mass Teena McCarthy Terry Burrows The Motel Sisters The Mumps The Spectral Committee The Stoked The Twilight Girls Thom Roberts Tim Burns Tina Havelock Stevens Tom Isaacs Tony Albert Vaughan O'Connor Vienna Del Rosario Parreno Virginia Hilyard Wade Marynowsky William Seeto Williams River Valley Artists’ Project (WRVAP) Yiorgos Zafiriou Yvette Hamilton Zanny Begg Zio Ledeux

  • Festival 2021 - PROPOSED - OCT 14th - 17th