Thom Roberts

2. Thom Roberts, Positive and Negative of Thom Roberts’s Workshop. photo Ian Hobbs
2. Thom Roberts, Positive and Negative of Thom Roberts’s Workshop. photo Ian Hobbs


Thom Roberts works out of Studio A, a social enterprise that supports professional artists with intellectual disability. In 2013 Roberts was awarded an Amplify emerging artists grant. In 2014 Roberts began a collaborative project with artist Harriet Body, called Thom and Angelmouse, receiving an Arts NSW Creative Development grant. In 2015 Roberts and Angelmouse exhibited in the Underbelly Arts festival, Cockatoo Island, Sydney. In 2016 they contributed to an exhibition of contemporary art for children at Hazelhurst Regional Gallery. Roberts is a collaborating artist on the Bird Fox Monster project with Erth Visual and Physical inc, supported by Carriageworks.


Thom Roberts makes art with a spirit of experimentation and spontaneity. His portfolio encompasses a range of media and styles including drawing, installation, painting, performance and photography. Roberts is a skilled draftsman, well able to quickly translate landscapes and portraits in a traditional and representational artistic style, yet his primary interest is in his contemporary painting and installation practice. His portraits of friends and families render them three-eyed and fanged, and his surreal performances and spoken-word poetry speak of trains, buildings, monsters and blue birds.

Positive and Negative of Thom Roberts’s Workshop | 2017

Materials | Performance art and installation using various paper and posca pens
Location | Cuts Colours N Curls Hair Salon
1. Thom Roberts, Positive and Negative of Thom Roberts’s Workshop, 2017. photo Ian Hobbs
1. Thom Roberts, Positive and Negative of Thom Roberts’s Workshop, 2017. photo Ian Hobbs

A Galaxy of Suns Alan Schacher Alana Hunt Aleshia Lonsdale Aleshia Lonsdale Alex Gawronski Alex Wisser Alexander Jackson-Wyatt & Paulina Semkowicz Alison Clouston and Boyd Amanda Hills Andrew Christie Anne Graham Annemaree Dalziel Anya Rosen Artbank Artcodex Artists in Transit Beata Geyer & James Culkin Ben Denham Bill Moseley Billy Gruner and Graham Davis King Blak Douglas Boris Hunt Brad Allen-Waters Bronia Iwanczak Bruce Green Carol Warner Cementa poets Cementa Salon Ceramica Christine McMillan Christine McMillan Cigdem Aydemir Claire Conroy Claire Healy and Sean Cordeiro Connie Anthes Connie Anthes Dan Kojta Dani Marti Danial Stocks Daniel Kojta Daniel Mudie Cunningham Darryl H. Brown David Capra Diego Bonetto Djon Mundine Elizabeth Day Eugenia Raskopoulos Fiona Davies Fiona Davies Fiona Kemp Fiona MacDonald Fiona MacDonald Fleur MacDonald Francesca Mataraga Frontyard Genevieve Carroll Genevieve Murray George Shaw George Tillianakis Georgina Pollard Georgina Pollard and Leanne Wicks Gilbert Grace Gilbert Grace Greg Pritchard Heidi Lefebvre Hinterding/Haines Hobart Hughes Ian Milliss Ian Milliss Jack Randell Jacquelene Drinkall Jacquelene Drinkall Jason Lujan Jason Wing Jenny Brown Jesse Oliveri John A Douglas John A. Douglas John Conomos John Conomos Josh Harle Juilee Pryor Julie Montgarrett and Sarah McEwan Justene Williams Justin Balmain Justin Cooper Kandos Art Group Kandos CWA Kandos School of Cultural Adaptation Karen Golland Karla Dickens Kat Brown Kate Cowden Kate Mackay Kim V. Goldsmith Kurt Sorensen Kyle Ford Lauren Smith Leahlani Johnson Leanne Wicks Lena Obergfell Liam Benson Linda Brescia Linden Braye Lisa Andrew Liv in(the)finite & Patch Sinclair Madeleine Preston Margaret Brooks Margaret Roberts Margaret Roberts Mark Booth Mark Brown Mark Brown & David Standfield Mark Shorter melanie e. khava Melissa Staiger Mervyn Bishop Miriam Williamson Mr & Mrs Brown Murrawuy and Kirrpatja Nicole Barakat Nicole Welch Nola Farman Opening Night Paris Norton Paul Gazzola Paul Greedy Paul Greedy Peter Blamey Peter Williamson Philip Spark PYT | Fairfield Robin Hungerford Robyn Backen s o d a c a k e Sach Catts Sarah Breen Lovett Sarah Breen Lovett Sarah Goffman Sarah Goffman Sarah Nolan Sarah Waterson Scott 'Sauce' Towney Sean O’Keeffe Six Quick Chicks Skye Saxon SNO Group Sound Night Starrs & Cmielewski Starrs & Cmielewski Sue Pedley and Virginia Hilyard Super Critical Mass Teena McCarthy Terry Burrows The Motel Sisters The Mumps The Spectral Committee The Stoked The Twilight Girls Thom Roberts Tim Burns Tina Havelock Stevens Tom Isaacs Tony Albert Vaughan O'Connor Vienna Del Rosario Parreno Virginia Hilyard Wade Marynowsky William Seeto Williams River Valley Artists’ Project (WRVAP) Yiorgos Zafiriou Yvette Hamilton Zanny Begg Zio Ledeux

  • Festival 2021 - PROPOSED - OCT 14th - 17th